Skip to content

Summertime and the livin’ is easy…

April 3, 2009

Or IS it?

As a North American that lives in a 4 season zone….I always look forward to Summertime.  At least I always have.  I trudge through Winter just “making it through” every year until Patio Season, what living is really about.

But you know, as much as I STILL hate Winter, I can’t say I’m entirely looking forward to Summer anymore.

I think looking forward to Summer is lost on me now.  The only plusses are that there’s no snow to shovel and I don’t have to bundle up when I go outside.  Because, it’s HOT, it’s HUMID, it’s generally unbearable for most of the Summer.  I don’t go out in the sun very long, since I’m fair and deathly afraid of skin cancer.  I don’t go away much to the cottage or the beach on the weekends, since that’s what everyone does, which means enduring 4 hours in traffic on the way up and 4 hours on the way down at least every weekend.  Which, frankly, does not appeal to me or make it worth it.

So what good is summer anymore?  Combined with the pressure to look good in a bathing suit and the skimpier clothes that you wear, doens’t make it any better!  Then there’s the money spent on air conditioning.

I think looking forward to Summertime was more a thing left in me from childhood.  Where you’d look forward to summer because you could play outside, not have to go to school and there was more sunshine.  But I am always working, so no vacation there, and I don’t play outside, and I try to avoid the sun in general.

I guess I’m just an “indoor” girl.

Can anyone tell me any plusses about Summer?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

