Skip to content

Harem Pants, a.k.a. ‘MC Hammer Pants’

April 2, 2009
Harem Pants a.k.a. MC Hammer Pants

Harem Pants a.k.a. MC Hammer Pants

Okay, so I was reading Vogue or some fashionista magazine of mine this winter and they were featuring harem pants as a “back in” style for this spring, and the forseeable future.

I giggled and choked a little on my wine whilst reading this amusing article.  Because, Vogue is Vogue.  In all is fashion forward artistic wonder.  I am ME.  I am NOT Vogue.  BB (does not equal sign) Vogue.  Sometimes things that are in “en vogue” never make it “en my closet.”  Or of the closet of any other fashion accepting citizen.  Some trends catch, some don’t.  Some REALLY don’t.  Anyway, you get the point.

WELL…..folks.  I was in my suburban mall today looking for some new jeans.  Skinny jeans infact, of which I ALSO said I’d never wear when they first hit.  I’m a pear, I didn’t need to look like an upside down icecream cone.  But alas, they’re my go-to jean now since I can tuck them into my boots, so you MIGHT see a post on her about the acceptance of these Harem Pants.  I jest.  Moving on, low and behold – in my suburban mall – I see Harem Pants! On the rack with all the OTHER pants, just like they BELONG there or something!!! Ach!!

You realize once the virus goes mainstream, we’ll all be infected, right?  Be afraid, be very afraid.

What do YOU think about Harem Pants???

What do you think of these???

It’s Hammertime! (i had to)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mackenzie permalink
    August 16, 2009 8:20 pm

    I had no idea that Harem pants were getting so big (at least for the fashion industry). I’m not much of a magazine reader, used to be but lately… anyways for a while I never even knew these pants existed, excuse my ignorance.

    About a month and a half ago I went to Europe for the first time. Italy and France to be exact. Guess what I saw? These adorable looking baggy pants that sooo many of the European girls were wearing and I thought “I have to get one of those”. Of course, being a tourist I had no idea where any of the stores were that didn’t scream “tourist” or “Entrance in here alone will cost you 100 Euros, we’ll talk about the other prices later”. So sadly I never got a pair.

    When I came back here to America I immediately started looking up things on google like European pants… as you can imagine there wasn’t really a golden arrow pointing to wear I could find the pants. Finally after searching long and hard I saw a pair of pants that looked awfully similar to the ones I saw in Europe.

    Harem pants? Really? Strange name but I was so happy to find out they excist!

    Now if only I could find a store that sells them. Any ideas?

    Well if my comment made any sense at all…

    But, like you, when skinny jeans first came out my jaw almost dropped to the floor, especially when you saw guys wearing them. But again, like you, I caved and bought one. They’ve been the only types of jeans I’ve been buying for the past year and a half (just a few days ago I bought a pair of flare out jeans, boy do I miss those).

  2. March 10, 2010 4:04 am

    I love harem pants. Im not to fond of these though. But I have been looking for a pair for the longest time! What store did you find them in??

    I realized how popular they had become around december. At first I was like, “Naw… the average person wont wear these!” Now me (the average person) is looking for some. However, i havent seen anyone in my ‘friend’ and city circle wear them. But I wont mind being the first.

Leave a Reply

